Distress Centre Calgary

Distress Centre Calgary (DCC) provides 24 hour crisis support, professional counselling, youth peer support and navigation and referrals through 211 and our programs at SORCe – all at no cost. For over 50 years, Distress Centre has served Calgary and Southern Alberta, ensuring everyone has a place to turn in times of crisis.

Mission: Provide compassionate, accessible crisis and navigation support that enhances the health, well-being and resiliency of individuals in distress.

Vision: Everyone is heard.

Values: Belonging, Service to Others, Excellence, Volunteerism, Integrity, Collaboration, Innovation, Leadership

About Distress Centre

Watch this video to learn more about our programs and services.


Robyn Romano
Robyn RomanoChief Executive Officer
Robyn Romano is Chief Executive Officer at Distress Centre Calgary (DCC). In her 10+ years at Distress Centre in various roles, Robyn has been instrumental to the growth and development of the agency as a critical resource in crisis intervention and system navigation. Robyn holds a Masters of Social Work in Leadership in Human Services from the University of Calgary and is a Registered Social Worker. Outside of work Robyn can be found spending time with her two French bulldogs, cheering on the Calgary Flames or relaxing in the mountains.


Mike Velthius Kroeze, BSW, RSW
Mike Velthius Kroeze, BSW, RSWDirector of Programs
Bianca Zhou MSA, CPA
Bianca Zhou MSA, CPADirector of Finance
Karen Gallagher-Burt, MSW
Karen Gallagher-Burt, MSWDirector of Strategy & Engagement
Candice Giammarino
Candice GiammarinoDirector of Programs at SORCe
Christie Schulze, CPHR
Christie Schulze, CPHRDirector of People & Culture


David Kirby, MSW, RSW, RCSW
David Kirby, MSW, RSW, RCSWClinical Services Manager
Sangeeta Sharma, PhD, Psch
Sangeeta Sharma, PhD, PschContact Centre Manager
Lindsay Douglas, BCMM
Lindsay Douglas, BCMMComms Manager
Sarah Vardy, BSW
Sarah Vardy, BSWStrategic Partnerships Manager
Sarah Sandall
Sarah SandallContact Centre Manager

Board of Directors

Distress Centre Calgary is governed by an exemplary group of volunteers who make up the Board of Directors. They bring exceptional skills, vision and experience from a variety backgrounds to lead strategic direction, governance and fiduciary accountability. The Board is committed to ensuring Distress Centre remains an accessible, innovative and compassionate agency that delivers excellent service to our clients and continues to meet the emerging needs of our community.

Board of Directors 2023-2024


  • Chantal Milloy, Chair – Levvel Inc.
  • Amanda Kousinioris, Vice Chair – Independent Contractor for the Alberta Securities Commission
  • Kiersten Mohr, Vice Chair –Terra Firma Transition Consulting
  • Lori Berg, Treasurer – ATB Financial


  • Alli Marshall – Strix Insights
  • Aminda Galappaththi – Calgary Housing Company
  • Dilan Yogasundaram – Accenture
  • Kara Patterson – Alberta Health Services
  • Kevin Drinkwater – JFive
  • Rachael Golembuski – Long View Systems
  • Sarah Wilson Cook – MEG Energy
  • Serge Leckie – Volker Stevin Canada
  • Stacey Meyer – Precede Occupational Health Services
  • Tonino Rizzuti – ENMAX